Skip to content

Program Schedules

Program schedules may be subject to change. All pending applicants and accepted participants will be alerted to any changes made after publication. If you have questions or concerns about any of these dates, please consult with the JCMU staff prior to making any flight arrangements.


2016 Fall Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Aug 30 (Tue) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in** - Aug 31 (Wed) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for fall and academic year students)
Orientation - Sep 1 / 2 (Thu / Fri)
Placement Test - Sep 5 (Mon)    
First Day of Class - Sep 6 (Tue)
National Holiday - No Classes - Sep 19 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Sep 22 (Thu)
National Holiday - No Classes - Oct 10 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 3 (Thu)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 23 (Wed)
Japanese Presentations - Dec 9 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Dec 15 (Thu)
Closing Ceremony - Dec 16 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Dec 17 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless participating in the full academic year)


2017 Spring Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Jan 3 (Tue) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - Jan 4 (Wed) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for spring semester students)
Orientation - Jan 5 (Thu)
Placement Test - Jan 6 (Fri)  
National Holiday - No Classes - Jan 9 (Mon)  
First Day of Class - Jan 10 (Tue)
Break - No Classes - Mar 2 (Thu)
Break - No Classes - Mar 3 (Fri)
Japanese Presentations - Apr 14 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Apr 19 (Wed)
Closing Ceremony - Apr 21 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Apr 22 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)


2017 May Short Courses: Sports & Society / Intercultural Business Communication

Depart for Japan - May 7 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - May 8 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation and First Day of Class - May 9 (Tue)
Move-out/Departure - May 25 (Thu) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless also participating in the Summer Intensive Language program)


2017 May Short Course: Japanese Cultural Heritage

Depart for Japan - May 13 (Sat) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - May 14 (Sun) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation and First Day of Class - May 15 (Mon)
Move-out/Departure - May 28 (Sun) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless also participating in the Summer Intensive Language program)


2017 Health & Culture of Japan / Environment & Sustainability in Japan / Teaching English in Japan

Depart for Japan - May 7 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - May 8 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation and First Day of Class - May 9 (Tue)
Move-out/Departure - June 8 (Thu) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)


2017 Summer Internship Program

Depart for Japan - May 7 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - May 8 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation - May 9 (Tue)
Japanese Language and Culture & Society classes - May 9 - Jun 2
Internship Begins - Jun 5 (Mon)
Internship Ends and Paper Due - Jul 27 (Thu)
Last Reflection Meeting - Jul 28 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Jul 29 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)


2017 Summer Intensive Language

Depart for Japan - Jun 4 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - Jun 5 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
Orientation - Jun 6 (Tue)
Placement Test - Jun 7 (Wed)    
First Day of Class - Jun 8 (Thu)
Japanese Presentations - Jul 28 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Aug 5 (Sat)
Closing Ceremony - Aug 6 (Sun)
Move-out/Departure - Aug 7 (Mon) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)


2017 Fall Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Sep 3 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in** - Sep 4 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for fall and academic year students)
Orientation - Sep 5 (Tue)
Placement Test - Sep 6 (Wed)    
First Day of Class - Sep 7 (Thu)
National Holiday - No Classes - Sep 18 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Oct 9 (Mon)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 3  (Fri)
National Holiday - No Classes - Nov 23 (Thu)
Japanese Presentations - Dec 8 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Dec 14 (Thu)
Closing Ceremony - Dec 15 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Dec 16 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless participating in the full academic year or ICRP programs)


2018 Spring Semester Japanese Language and Culture

Depart for Japan - Jan 3 (Wed) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
Arrival/Move-in - Jan 4 (Thu) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for spring semester students)
Orientation - Jan 5 (Fri)
National Holiday - No Classes - Jan 8 (Mon)  
Placement Test - Jan 9 (Tue)  
First Day of Class - Jan 10 (Wed)
Break - No Classes - Mar 1 (Thu)
Break - No Classes - Mar 2 (Fri)
Japanese Presentations - Apr 13 (Fri)
Japanese Final Exam - Apr 18 (Wed)
Closing Ceremony - Apr 20 (Fri)
Move-out/Departure - Apr 21 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)