Back to News
Scholarships Awarded to JCMU Students

Published: Tuesday, 13 Jul 2010
Author: Katie Walquist
Department: Japan Center for Michigan Universities

The following JCMU students were awarded external scholarships to support their studies in Japan. Annica Crouse (Hobart & William Smith Colleges), Stefanie DeHart (Kalamazoo College), Thao Dinh (Michigan State University), and Alex Green (Oakland University) were recipients of the Bridging Scholarship, provided by the Association of Teachers of Japanese for study in Japan during the academic year.

Several students were also recipients of the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State for 2010: for summer, Christian Hessler (Michigan State University), and Nicole VanBelle (Michigan Tech); for the academic year, Richard Gerace (Hobart & William Smith Colleges), Amanda Kennedy (Michigan State University), Sandy Tang (Texas Tech), Bradford Dillon (University of Michigan -- Dearborn), Brandi Altheide (University of Michigan -- Flint), and Dillon Wyatt (University of Missouri -- Columbia).

Four students were selected for the Japan Business Society of Detroit Scholarships for study in Japan during the academic year: Bradford Dillon (University of Michigan -- Dearborn), Rebecca Emanuelsen (Wayne State University), Kathleen McCormick (Western Michigan University), and Jade Piechota (Michigan State University).

Two Foreign Language & Area Studies (FLAS) Fellows also attended JCMU this summer: Rebecca Shearier (University of Wisconsin) and Nicholas Witkowski (Stanford University).