Home > Programs > Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

JCMU runs programs throughout the academic year including summer. The most current versions of schedules for upcoming programs are provided below. Dates for past programs can be found on the Past Schedules page.


2022

Fall - Semester Language and Culture

  • Depart for Japan - September 2, 2022 (Fri) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - September 3, 2022 (Sat) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for fall and academic year students)
  • Orientation - September 4, 2022 (Sun)
  • Placement Test - September 5, 2022 (Mon)
  • First Day of Class - September 7, 2022 (Wed)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - September 19, 2022 (Mon)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - September 22, 2022 (Thu)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - November 3, 2022 (Thu)
  • Fall Break - No Japanese Classes - November 4, 2022 (Fri)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - November 23, 2022 (Wed)
  • Japanese Presentations - December 9, 2022 (Fri)
  • Japanese Final Exam - December 15, 2022 (Thu)
  • Closing Ceremony - December 16, 2022 (Fri)
  • Departure Preparation - December 17, 2022 (Sat)
  • Move-out/Departure - Dec 18, 2022 (Sun) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless participating in the full academic year)

2023

Spring - Semester Language and Culture

  • Depart for Japan - January 5, 2023 (Thu) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - January 6, 2023 (Fri) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for spring semester students)
  • Orientation - January 7, 2023 (Sat)
  • Placement Test - January 10, 2023 (Tue)
  • First Day of Class - January 11, 2023 (Wed)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - February 23, 2023 (Thu)
  • Spring Break - No Japanese Classes - March 20, 2023 (Mon)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - March 21, 2023 (Tue)
  • Japanese Presentations - April 14, 2023 (Fri)
  • Japanese Final Exam - April 20, 2023 (Thu)
  • Closing Ceremony - April 21, 2023 (Fri)
  • Departure Preparation - April 22, 2023 (Sat)
  • Move-out/Departure - April 23, 2023 (Sun) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available for Spring Semester students unless accepted to participate in a consecutive JCMU program.)

Summer - Criminal Justice in Japan

  • Depart for Japan - May 6, 2023 (Sat) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - May 7, 2023 (Sun) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
  • Orientation & Classes Begin - May 8, 2023 (Mon)
  • Move-out/Departure - June 2, 2023 (Fri) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)

Summer - Teaching English in Japan

  • Depart for Japan - May 6, 2023 (Sat) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - May 7, 2023 (Sun) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
  • Orientation & Classes Begin - May 8, 2023 (Mon)
  • Move-out/Departure - June 2, 2023 (Fri) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)

Summer - Intensive Japanese Language

  • Depart for Japan - June 5, 2023 (Mon) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - June 6, 2023 (Tue) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available)
  • Orientation - June 7, 2023 (Wed)
  • Placement Test - June 8, 2023 (Thu)
  • First Day of Class - June 9, 2023 (Fri)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - July 17, 2023 (Mon)
  • Japanese Presentations - TBD
  • Japanese Final Exam - TBD
  • Closing Ceremony - TBD
  • Move-out/Departure - August 11, 2023 (Fri) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available)

 

Schedules

Program schedules may change. JCMU will alert all pending applicants and accepted participants to any changes after publication.

Depart for Japan Dates

These dates indicate the last day by which students flying from the U.S. need to depart for Japan in order to arrive on the program arrival date. Students may need to depart on a different date if their flight has multiple connections, long layovers, or if it departs from somewhere else. If the length of your program requires you to have a visa that JCMU is providing, please do not plan to depart more than 5 days prior to the program start date without first consulting with the JCMU East Lansing office.

Arrival/move-in Dates

These dates indicate the day by which all students participating in that program must arrive, as well as the first day students are eligible to move into the program-provided housing.

Move-out/departure Dates

These dates indicate the day on which all participants must move-out of the program housing, unless they are continuing into the next semester.