Home > Programs > Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

JCMU runs programs throughout the academic year including summer. The most current versions of schedules for upcoming programs are provided below. Dates for past programs can be found on the Past Schedules page.


2020

Fall - Semester Language and Culture Program

  • Depart for Japan - August 30, 2020 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - August 31, 2020 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for fall and academic year students)
  • Orientation - September 1 (Tue)
  • Placement Test - September 2, 2020 (Wed) 
  • First Day of Class - September 3, 2020 (Thu)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - September 21, 2020 (Mon)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - September 22, 2020 (Tue)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - November 3, 2020 (Tue)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - November 23, 2020 (Mon)
  • Japanese Presentations - December 4, 2020 (Fri)
  • Japanese Final Exam - December 10, 2020 (Thu)
  • Closing Ceremony - December 11, 2020 (Fri)
  • Move-out/Departure - Dec 12, 2020 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available unless participating in the full academic year or ICRP programs)

 

2021

Spring - Semester Language and Culture Program

  • Depart for Japan - January 3, 2021 (Sun) (You may need to depart earlier depending on your flight itinerary)
  • Arrival/Move-in - January 4, 2021 (Mon) (First day JCMU-provided housing is available for spring semester students)
  • Orientation - January 5, 2021 (Tue)
  • Placement Test - January 6, 2021 (Wed) 
  • First Day of Class - January 7, 2021 (Thu)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - January 11, 2021 (Mon)
  • Kalamazoo Internship Move-out/Departure - February 5, 2021 (Fri) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available for Kalamazoo College students participating in the Fall + Internship term)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - February 11, 2021 (Thu)
  • National Holiday - No Classes - February 23, 2021 (Tue)
  • Japanese Presentations - April 9, 2021 (Fri)
  • Japanese Final Exam - April 14, 2021 (Wed)
  • Closing Ceremony - April 16, 2021 (Fri)
  • Move-out/Departure - April 17, 2021 (Sat) (Last day JCMU-provided housing is available for Spring Semester, Academic Year, and Kalamazoo Extended Term students unless accepted to participate in a JCMU program beginning in May)

Schedules

Program schedules may change. JCMU will alert all pending applicants and accepted participants to any changes after publication.

Depart for Japan Dates

These dates indicate the last day by which students flying from the U.S. need to depart for Japan in order to arrive on the program arrival date. Students may need to depart on a different date if their flight has multiple connections, long layovers, or if it departs from somewhere else. If the length of your program requires you to have a visa that JCMU is providing, please do not plan to depart more than 5 days prior to the program start date without first consulting with the JCMU East Lansing office.

Arrival/move-in Dates

These dates indicate the day by which all students participating in that program must arrive, as well as the first day students are eligible to move into the program-provided housing.

Move-out/departure Dates

These dates indicate the day on which all participants must move-out of the program housing, unless they are continuing into the next semester.